Skip to content

Homemade hummus

October 10, 2011

A few simple ingredients make this an easy recipe

While out in Sedona, I couldn’t get enough hummus. I don’t know what it was about the way it was made out there, but I needed to try to recreate it myself, from scratch. Not only was I impressed by the creamy, light Mediterranean flavor, but with the presentation as well. Not that I hadn’t seen hummus before, but on the East coast it’s generally served more as a side dish, as opposed to a main dish, like there. Anyway, here’s the recipe. Watch the amount of garlic you add. I think I over did it in my first batch, and so re-adjusted the recipe here.

  • 1 can (19 oz) of Cento chickpeas or “garbanzo” beans (I prefer to use dry beans. When you do that you need to soak the beans over night in a pot of cold water. In the morning, simmer on a low boil for 3-4 hours. Drain water; cool).
  • 1/4 cup Tahini paste
  • 1/4 cup greek yogurt or sour cream
  • 3-4 leaves of mint ( I have mint growing wild in my yard, so I love to use it when I can)
  • Juice from 1 1/2 lemons
  • 2-3 cloves of garlic (I originally used 4, which was a little too much). 
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • exta virgin olive oil
  • parsley
  • tomatoes
  • cucumbers
  • pita bread
  • kalamata olives
  • feta cheese
In a food processor, combine chickpeas, tahini, yogurt, mint, lemon juice, crushed garlic and salt. Turn processor on for about two minutes until hummus is smooth. To serve hummus, place on center of dish, drizzle about 1/2 teaspoon of olive oil, and sprinkle with paprika. Garnish with olives, feta, sliced cucumbers, tomato wedges and warmed pita bread.
2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 10, 2011 7:19 pm

    I adore making my own hummus, tastes so good compared to the shop ought slop one gets.

  2. sevenperfumes permalink
    October 10, 2011 7:35 pm

    I wholeheartedly agree, frugal!

Leave a Reply

