Skip to content

Kale Farro Winter Salad with orange ginger dressing

October 27, 2015

IMG_1758I’m not a fan of kale. There, I said it. I need loads of coaxing to add it to my salads if I add it at all. But a friend of mine convinced me to go on a cleansing diet,  which included a smoothie for breakfast, one for dinner and a hearty salad-based lunch, something to chew. She recommended that I put kale on my shopping list. So, I did.

Having run a smoothie bar in my not-so-distant past, I had a few really great smoothie recipes that I could exhume. But, for lunch, I was  hoping to create something similar to her detox lunch, which didn’t exactly come with a straight forward recipe as much as a conversation about what she plans to throw together. The conversation went something like this:

“For the juice in the morning I’ll do ginger, celery, apple, kale. For the evening, I might do raw beet, red cabbage, pomegranate and orange. Then for lunch, I eat something hardy. I’ll do lettuce, quinoa, beet, veggies, carrots, and stuff like that.”

Two days later, when it came time to start my cleanse, I definitely forgot the initial instructions and ended up combining a recipe for a smoothie and a salad.

Thing is, it was FANTASTIC.

With a few personal tweaks of my own, here’s the recipe:

Ingredients for the salad:

  • 1 cup farro (or grain of your choice)
  • 1 Tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 2 Tbsps onion
  • 1 stalk celery
  • 1 teaspoon vegetable stock
  • 1/2 sweet potato or 1 small sweet potato
  • 1/2 large beet, or 1 small beet
  • few leaves of kale, de-stemmed
  • few leave of Swiss Chard, de-stemmed
  • 1/4 cup chopped carrots
  • 1/4 chopped or sliced cucumber

IMG_1759 Ingredients for the dressing

  • One inch peeled and finely chopped ginger
  • 1/2 cup fresh squeezed orange juice
  • 1 Tbsp orange zest
  • 1 Tbsp tasting olive oil
  • 1/4 cup or more pomegranate seeds
  • Salt & pepper to taste

Dressing: add all ingredients into mason jar and shake well. 

Pour 1 Tbsp olive oil in a 4-5 quart pot and sautée finely chopped garlic, onion and celery for about 5 minutes or until tender. Add 1 cup of farro and stir. Let toast for a bit (3-5 minutes). And then add 2 cups of water and vegetable stock. Simmer for 30 minutes or until tender and water stock has evaporated or almost evaporated. Remove from heat and let cool.

Meanwhile, cube your sweet potatoes and beets into one-quarter-inch bite size pieces, toss with olive oil, salt and pepper and place in broiler close to heat for 10-12 minutes, turning once halfway through. Broil until crisp and brown. Remove from broiler and let cool.

In a separate salad bowl, toss lettuces, cucumbers and carrots. Once farro has cooled (you can also eat it warm. This is how I prefer it), mix a cup into the salad. Add a cup of the broiled root veggies as well and toss. Pour 2-3 generous tablespoons of salad dressing on top and Enjoy!!!

Add baked or broiled wild Alaskan salmon for extra protein. 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

